Parish councillors are elected every four years at the local elections. The next parish elections will take place in May 2019.

At the local election, residents from each of the five wards in Stone vote for a candidate to represent the ward in which they live. Eligible candidates for election must be nominated by two electors in the ward in which they wish to represent.

Eligibility for office includes being a Commonwealth or Euro citizen, being aged 21 or over, and either working or residing within three miles of the parish. Read more about becoming a councillor…


Should a councillor vacate his or her seat during the four-year term, either voluntarily or through other means, a bye-election may be held to fill the vacancy if a request to hold a bye-election is made within fourteen days by ten or more local electors from the ward which the councillor serves.

If a vacancy is declared, formal notices are displayed around the parish to notify electors of their right to request a bye-election by writing to the Returning Officer at Dartford Borough Council.


If a bye-election is not requested by local electors, the council is required by law to fill the vacancy by a process called co-option. This sees the council formally acknowledge the absence of a request for a bye-election and subsequent invite of expressions of interest from local residents who would like to be considered to fill the vacancy.

Candidates expressing an interest are then invited to a council meeting where they will present their case for consideration to the council. The successful candidate will be the person that receives support from a majority of those present and voting.

Statements of persons nominated can be seen opens in a new windowhere.opens PDF file

Results from the election held in May 2015 can be seen opens in a new windowhere.