For information relating to the upcoming local elections on 4th May 2023, please click here.

Parish elections are held every four years, the last election being on 2 May 2019. Twelve Parish Councillors were elected across five wards. 

At the local election, residents from each of the five wards in Stone vote for a candidate to represent the ward in which they live. Eligible candidates for election must be nominated by two electors in the ward in which they wish to represent.  

To be eligible to stand for an election as a parish councillor, you must either; 

  • be an elector of the parish 
  • work in the parish (as your principal or only place of work) 
  • live within three miles of the parish boundary. 



Should a councillor vacate his or her seat during the four-year term, either voluntarily or through other means, a bye-election may be held to fill the vacancy if a request to hold a bye-election is made within fourteen days by ten or more local electors from the ward which the councillor serves. 

If a vacancy is declared, formal notices are displayed around the parish to notify electors of their right to request a bye-election by writing to the Returning Officer at Dartford Borough Council. 



If a bye-election is not requested by local electors, the council is required by law to fill the vacancy by a process called co-option. This sees the council formally acknowledge the absence of a request for a bye-election and subsequent invite of expressions of interest from local residents who would like to be considered to fill the vacancy. 

Candidates expressing an interest are then invited to a council meeting where they will present their case for consideration to the council. The successful candidate will be the person that receives support from a majority of those present and voting. 

At the last election, 100% of the Parish Councillors stood for election.

 Results for the last election can be found below or the Dartford Borough Council website

Election Results for Stone – 2nd May 2019 

Castle Ward 

John BurrellLocal Conservatives

Lesley Christine HowesSwanscombe and Greenhithe Residents’ Association 

Keith Martin KellyLocal Conservatives 

Horns Cross Ward 

Lucy Alison CanhamLocal Conservatives 

Paul CutlerLocal Conservatives 

Milestone Ward 

Margaret Joyce MitchellLocal Conservatives 

Stephanie Anne ThredgleLocal Conservatives 

St John’s Ward 

Kelly Jane Grehan –  Labour Party 

Jessica Mary McQueenLocal Conservatives 

Claire PearceLabour Party 

Stone Village Ward 

Julie Mary FukesLocal Conservatives 

Jean Elizabeth HoadleyLocal Conservatives